Burn N’ Rubber: The Driver (1978, Walter Hill)
Saturday, July 26 & Sunday, July 27; Brunch | Buy Tickets

The word that always pops to mind when it comes to Walter Hill is “macho.” It seems that no matter what project he’s worked on, be it a western, a musical or a hard-nosed action movie, there’s always an air of classic stoicism to their male (always male) leads. I’d imagine that’s why he so frequently worked with actors of the squinty-eyed variety: your Charles Bronsons, Fred Wards and Nick Noltes. Men whose good looks peek out from deep lines caused by years of cigarettes, booze and good, old fashioned ass-kickings.

Hill’s films tend to be violent, but they rarely seem to revel in bloodletting. Beneath all of the bloodshed and swagger, there’s an air of sadness to Walter Hill’s catalogue of crooks, cowboys and conmen.

These men live off of violence, they make their money off of violence, but more often than not, the violence isn’t fulfilling, it’s draining.

Hard Times (1975)6Akbb6imtNGfElJpyJZjN3uxSLW Hard-Times-poster3tumblr_mbdgg8sCHd1qcap7go1_1280

The Driver (1978)driver_xlg Driver2 Digital StillCamera TheDriver_USA_StyleA

The Warriors (1979)thewarriors 936full-the-warriors-poster

The Long Riders (1980)The_Long_Riders-233616173-large 4753

Southern Comfort (1981)southern-comfort-poster

48 Hrs. (1982)48-hrs-poster 600full-48-hrs.-poster

Streets of Fire (1984)936full-streets-of-fire-poster 600full-streets-of-fire-poster sofposb

Brewster’s Millions (1985)brewsters_millions_72DSC00063

Crossroads (1986)crossroads-poster

Extreme Prejudice (1987)bdtUjRqRA3JrHyQ3jLkoHKRtYq1 2013-02-04-extremepre150ppi extreme-prejudice-cinema-quad-movie-poster-(1).jpg

Red Heat (1988)red_heat_1396895261 Red Heat Poster red-heat-rare-poster

Johnny Handsome (1989)johnny-handsome-1989 2013-02-06-johnny-handsome150ppi

Another 48 Hrs. (1990)another_forty_eight_hours_xlg xlOWhkidcZ1JfuswwbvjKqXdZ5Q

Trespass (1992)trespass-movie-poster-1992-1020210530-2ulzclliwln86w1cg8wsga

Geronimo: An American Legend (1993)geronimo_an_american_legend_ver4

Wild Bill (1995)wild-bill-movie-poster-1995-1020205163 2013-02-17-wild-bill1

Last Man Standing (1996)last_man_standing_ver2 last_man_standing_ver3_xlg

Undisputed (2002)4ioPRu8sgNcvoH2In2Ug7XRn3xo

Bullet to the Head (2012)BULLET-TO-THE-HEAD-Poster-02